top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Steinkoenig

The Fall of the Cowboys

In my last blog, at the end, I said that the Dallas Cowboys were gonna handle business against the Packers and be back on the winning track after their tough loss against the Saints. I was wrong. It may be time to panic and the legitimacy of the Dallas Cowboys is up in the air for sure.


The Cowboys and their fans were brought back down to earth after they suffered the Saints loss and they might have been taken back off of earth (in a bad way), after what has happened the past two weeks after their great start to the season.


Heading into week 5, the Cowboys were 3-1 and they were going up against the 3-1 Packers. It was a heavily anticipated match up and I expected it to be a high scoring and close game. Looking at the end result you could argue that my expectation was somewhat accurate but truly, It was not accurate at all.


The Cowboys had an awful first half and early in to the second half they basically had given themselves no chance to beat a good Green Bay Packers football team. The boys were down by 24 before they could put up any points on the scoreboard and they weren't even able to do that until halfway through the 3rd quarter of the game. They fought back and did not quit which is a positive from the game but in the end they took the 34-24 loss.


The loss was tough considering it was the second loss in a row but it was an understanding loss and just a bad time to have that team up on your schedule. I was more frustrated about the Saints loss than the Packers loss because I believe that the Packers are more of a complete football team especially since the Saints were missing their star quarterback.


Sitting at 3-2, the Cowboys had the 0-4 NY Jets next up on their schedule. It seemed like a perfect time for them to have a team like this on their schedule. The Jets are very bad and I, being an optimistic fan, felt like the Cowboys were gonna bounce back and hand it to the sorry Jets.


I was wrong, the Cowboys got off to another poor start and were down by 2 scores going into the second half. I would give more of a summary of this game but I would rather not spend my time thinking about this BAD loss so I will just leave a game summary link for anyone that was interested.


My beliefs on the Cowboys have been very poor for the past 3 weeks and I am starting to question whether It is me being too optimistic and hopeful or If everyone is shocked by what is happening to this team.


I can't forget to add that Amari Cooper, the Cowboys best reciever, got injured in the game against the Jets with a bruised thigh and his return for this coming week is in question. The Cowboys severely need a win against in week 6 to break this 3 game skid and because they play a divisional rival, the (3-3) Eagles.




A win in this coming week is huge for them. A loss makes them 2nd in the division, a below .500 team, and that would be their 4th straight loss. A win on the other hand puts them back alone in first place in the division and will snap their 3 game losing streak.


I haven't quit on them yet and I don't believe they have lost all hope either. With this game being at home and with all the meaning behind it, I truly cannot see them losing to the Eagles in week 7.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page